No-Re in the database

🆓 Removes the prefix “Re : ” from posts and PMs in the Reply or Quote process. Parses also PMs and carries out its work with only 2 lines of code, not using templates but just PHP. In addition, we have provided an CLI command. Clean up your board, do yourself and users a favor. 😼


Post Reply
User avatar
Olaf Jacobs
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 469
Joined: 21 May 2019 00:31

No-Re in the database

Post by Olaf Jacobs »

Hi,

Is this no “Re” only for new made topics or does it also delete the already existing “Re” ?

Regards Olaf.

And this looks like s**t

afbeelding.png
afbeelding.png (14.31 KiB) Viewed 186 times

:geek:

Don’t make someone a priority, who only makes you an option.


User avatar
3Di
Founder
Founder
Posts: 1265
Joined: 12 Mar 2018 20:10
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Contact:

No-Re in the database

Post by 3Di »

Olaf Jacobs wrote:
15 Mar 2020 13:01

Is this no “Re” only for new made topics or does it also delete the already existing “Re” ?

It also removes those in the DB but you should do that via CLI/SSH.

We have provided an CLI command with 4 modes which allow you to reparse and remove the prefix from all over the database.

The command: php bin/phpbbcli.php phpbbstudio:nore

The “mode” argument must be one of: forums|topics|posts|pms

Example: php bin/phpbbcli.php phpbbstudio:nore posts


Image

Olaf Jacobs wrote:
15 Mar 2020 13:01

And this looks like s**t …:geek:

Disable the ext and delete data then In root/ext/phpbbstudio/nore/composer.json
change the display-name line to:

		"display-name": "phpBB Studio - No Re:",

🏥 Honour and respect to all our heroes in health care. 🇮🇹
Looking for a specific solution for your site? We will rock you! 🚀


User avatar
Olaf Jacobs
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 469
Joined: 21 May 2019 00:31

No-Re in the database

Post by Olaf Jacobs »

Done! 8-)

afbeelding.png

Don’t make someone a priority, who only makes you an option.


User avatar
3Di
Founder
Founder
Posts: 1265
Joined: 12 Mar 2018 20:10
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Contact:

No-Re in the database

Post by 3Di »

Database cleaned up? :think: 8-)

🏥 Honour and respect to all our heroes in health care. 🇮🇹
Looking for a specific solution for your site? We will rock you! 🚀


User avatar
3Di
Founder
Founder
Posts: 1265
Joined: 12 Mar 2018 20:10
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Contact:

No-Re in the database

Post by 3Di »

Olaf Jacobs wrote:
15 Mar 2020 13:01

And this looks like s**t … :geek:

Olaf, I double checked the files we provided here time ago and the above change is not needed. :think:

I do not know from where you got the extension from :P but it seems to me you’ve got an old version.

Please download it again, delete data and enable it.

extensions/no-re

🏥 Honour and respect to all our heroes in health care. 🇮🇹
Looking for a specific solution for your site? We will rock you! 🚀


User avatar
Olaf Jacobs
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 469
Joined: 21 May 2019 00:31

No-Re in the database

Post by Olaf Jacobs »

From an good informed forum I had the advice to wait for the phpbb3,3,1 and then upgrade all other extensions ;) that why my board is still running on 3,2,8 and I had to install the previous version. I thought they where the same.
As soon as I got 3,3,1 then ill update. 8-)

Don’t make someone a priority, who only makes you an option.


User avatar
3Di
Founder
Founder
Posts: 1265
Joined: 12 Mar 2018 20:10
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Contact:

No-Re in the database

Post by 3Di »

Ah ok, I see … wise advice I can say. :P The new version takes care of the quick-reply thinghy too, which has been made available by someone well known here, but since 3.2.9/3.3.1. :geek: ;)

The version you have only differs on that quick-reply stuff, nothing relevant for those who do not use it.

🏥 Honour and respect to all our heroes in health care. 🇮🇹
Looking for a specific solution for your site? We will rock you! 🚀


User avatar
Olaf Jacobs
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 469
Joined: 21 May 2019 00:31

No-Re in the database

Post by Olaf Jacobs »

True, but the script won’t allow me to install it :x No hurry anyway with the NO-RE.

Don’t make someone a priority, who only makes you an option.


User avatar
3Di
Founder
Founder
Posts: 1265
Joined: 12 Mar 2018 20:10
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Contact:

No-Re in the database

Post by 3Di »

Olaf Jacobs wrote:
19 Mar 2020 14:19

True, but the script won’t allow me to install it

Sure not, that’s why there is no sense in installing an extension that can not full work on to a previous phpBB version like 3.2.8. The script checks the phpBB version and acts accordingly.

:)

🏥 Honour and respect to all our heroes in health care. 🇮🇹
Looking for a specific solution for your site? We will rock you! 🚀


Post Reply