I'm not smart enough to use APS

🆓 Fully integrated 💶Points System for phpBB. Set up point values on a global or per-forum basis. All major native actions are available. User, Moderator and Administrator permissions. Fully extendable by other extensions. And more…


Post Reply
User avatar
HaioPaio
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8
Joined: 03 May 2020 14:28

I'm not smart enough to use APS

Post by HaioPaio »

Dear all
My board is 3.2.8 and I have APS 1.0.6RC installed.
I cannot understand how the system works and how to set it up for my needs.
Could somebody guide me possibly through an example.
I would like that any user gets automatically a number of points when he opens a new topic.

I’m definitely not smart enough to find it out by myself.


User avatar
3Di
Founder
Founder
Posts: 1577
Joined: 12 Mar 2018 20:10
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Contact:

I'm not smart enough to use APS

Post by 3Di »

I will see to walk you through a kick-start, when I get some spare time. :)

🇪🇺 Honour and respect to all the Healthcare Heroes. 🇮🇹


User avatar
HaioPaio
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8
Joined: 03 May 2020 14:28

I'm not smart enough to use APS

Post by HaioPaio »

Thats great.


User avatar
Goldy
Founder
Founder
Posts: 294
Joined: 12 Mar 2018 12:33
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

I'm not smart enough to use APS

Post by Goldy »

In the ‘extensions’ tab of your ACP, there will be a category ‘Advanced Points System’.
You can define some settings there and add points for ‘generic’ actions, such as registering.
When editing a forum, in the ACP > Forums, you can add point values for various actions aswell, eg. creating a topic.


User avatar
HaioPaio
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8
Joined: 03 May 2020 14:28

I'm not smart enough to use APS

Post by HaioPaio »

Dear Goldy

Let me show what i can see in the ACP
Should I see more?

GG2020-06-03_07-32-04_PM.jpg
GG2020-06-03_07-31-38_PM.jpg

User avatar
3Di
Founder
Founder
Posts: 1577
Joined: 12 Mar 2018 20:10
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Contact:

I'm not smart enough to use APS

Post by 3Di »

Yes that’s basic.

Editing a forum, in the ACP > Forums, you can add point values for various actions.

🇪🇺 Honour and respect to all the Healthcare Heroes. 🇮🇹


User avatar
HaioPaio
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8
Joined: 03 May 2020 14:28

I'm not smart enough to use APS

Post by HaioPaio »

Thats the key.
I was not aware of this additional settings.
Is there more to do at other places?

Edit:
Follow up question: Is it really required to visit each category and each Forum/Subforum individually and copy the points?


User avatar
3Di
Founder
Founder
Posts: 1577
Joined: 12 Mar 2018 20:10
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Contact:

I'm not smart enough to use APS

Post by 3Di »

Each distinct forum should be capable to store its own settings.

🇪🇺 Honour and respect to all the Healthcare Heroes. 🇮🇹


User avatar
HaioPaio
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8
Joined: 03 May 2020 14:28

I'm not smart enough to use APS

Post by HaioPaio »

3DI
Thanks for your interesting reply. Unfortunately, it was not related to my question.
I had not asked if different settings would be possible for each forum.
I verified that already by just doing it, before I posted the question.
Im my case, there are many forums and identical points settings are desired for all or most of it.
It seems to be much easier to manage the settings if it would be possible to copy the settings from a category down to all forums under the category.
This was the background to my question

HaioPaio wrote:
03 Jun 2020 17:55

Is it really required to visit each category and each Forum/Subforum individually and copy the points?

I interpret your answer that such easy points managements is not achievable and thank you for your time.


User avatar
3Di
Founder
Founder
Posts: 1577
Joined: 12 Mar 2018 20:10
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Contact:

I'm not smart enough to use APS

Post by 3Di »

HaioPaio wrote:
03 Jun 2020 17:55

Is it really required to visit each category and each Forum/Subforum individually and copy the points?

Yes, copy or set, each forum is distinct.

🇪🇺 Honour and respect to all the Healthcare Heroes. 🇮🇹


User avatar
Goldy
Founder
Founder
Posts: 294
Joined: 12 Mar 2018 12:33
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

I'm not smart enough to use APS

Post by Goldy »

You have to fill in the points for atleast one forum or category.
Then when editing or creating new forums, you can copy the points from that forum.
Alternatively, you can go to the Settings page in the ACP > Extensions > Advanced Points System.
The first option on that page is Copy points, where you can select the forum from which you want to copy the points and the forums to which you want to copy the points. So you do not have to visit each individual forum, if you want to have the exact same values for multiple forums.


User avatar
HaioPaio
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8
Joined: 03 May 2020 14:28

I'm not smart enough to use APS

Post by HaioPaio »

Thank you. This looks good. I tried it, and like it.
It is even possible to select multiple or all forums.


Post Reply